Trinity River Audubon (visit) – Windows and Insulation

Image

Today we met with Sahar Sea, Education Manager

  

                                                                            Tour: Trinity River Audubon

The Audubon is a river basin that acts as a refuge for several species of birds making long travels through out the state. 

  • -The building is designed with slanted glass to protect against glare and bird strikes.
  • – East Texas Bamboo floors (flooring has a natural gloss)
  • – Open ceilings that keep the roof cool and a roof top garden that works as an insulator for certain areas of the     building.
  • – The banquet area ceiling is covered in a soft material made of recycled denim
  • – With walls are made of a flyass (I’m sure I spelled that wrong) and a concrete mix.
  • – Offices and conference rooms have easy opening windows that allow access to fresh air.

How did this site visit change me: The little changes make the biggest impact I assumed my energy company says that because they know I can’t afford solar panels or any of the creative insulation materials I have learned about in the past few weeks.Yet, today I heard a super presentation and as soon as we got to the Audubon all I could think about were windows and insulation.

It is really coming together in my head now. Sustainability is not just about creating gardens and adding solar panels to roofs.  There are several small changes that can drastically change the way energy is used. I now understand the purpose of an Audubon, and I this site visit was a real eye opener to the simple and affordable changes that can be made to structures, that will have long lasting impacts on the life expectancy of a building along with the environment.

Slanted Windows
Protect from glare over the banquet area and bird strikes

Ceilings made of flyash (I’m sure I spelled this wrong) and a concrete mix

               

I just wanted every one to see the kiddy step stool…
But the wood for the wall is made of a recyclable wood brought in from East Texas

            

I’m not sure if you can really see the picture.
But this is a demonstration of how rivers are formed and how they shifting and pushing of the soil create river basins.

Posted on May 28, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

